I couldn’t help but wonder…

22 Nov

While perusing the internets today (at work…shhhhh…), I came across a picture that made me pause and really make me thankful for where my life is right now (see what I did there – thankful – it’s Thanksgiving week…). What was this photo? It was a picture from my hometown newspaper’s “party pics” section. It was taken this past summer at some sort of calendar girl search at a college-type bar. The photo was of my ex-boyfriend, surrounded by co-eds is cheap dresses clutching both him and a Michelob Ultra (no judgement there, I too enjoy a good Mich Ultra). He is 31. At a college bar. Oh, and he graduated a good 6.5 years ago.

He and I broke up about 4 or 5 years ago. I’ll never view him as “the one that got away”. He is the one I ran away from. That toxic relationship that I had to physically remove myself from (him and everyone I knew and loved) – having moved 600 miles away to finally make a clean break. So, seeing him EXACTLY where he was when we broke up all those years ago makes me pause and be thankful. Not only have I moved from that town, I’ve met and married the most amazing man I have ever met, I own my own home, I have a great and fulfilling career. Basically, I’m a grown up and he is not. In short – I win! 🙂

But, I couldn’t help but wonder (very, very fleetingly) where I would be if I hadn’t physically removed myself from that situation. And I found out I couldn’t. I’ve come so far and am so happy with where I am, I couldn’t even imagine it.

It also made me think of a quote from the greatest TV series of. all. time: Sex and the City. The wise Carrie Bradshaw once said:

Later that day I got to thinking about relationships. There are those that open you up to something new and exotic, those that are old and familiar, those that bring up lots of questions, those that bring you somewhere unexpected, those that bring you far from where you started, and those that bring you back. But the most exciting, challenging and significant relationship of all is the one you have with yourself. And if you can find someone to love the you you love, well, that’s just fabulous.

My wonderful husband has opened me up to the new and exotic, brought me to unexpected places and far from where I started. And he loves the me I love. And that’s the best part.

Leave a Reply

