Seriously?!

2 Dec

Yet another pop culture reference in my title. Grey’s Anatomy – you know, from back in the early days when it was still good and George and Izzie were still on the show.

I said I’d keep the blog updated with all of our fertility stuff as it arises. After multiple conversations with the doctor’s office and the insurance company, I felt pretty good about getting B’s surgery covered. At least most of it. The procedure to actually fix the blockage may or may not be covered. I went in with high hopes, and called to schedule the surgery. They called back and said that we’d have to pay the uncovered part up front. How much would we have to pay, you ask? SIX THOUSAND EFFING DOLLARS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Up front. Before Christmas. Before they’d even schedule the friggin surgery. Six. Thousand. Dollars. Yes, they take a payment plan. Yes, it still has to be paid in full before they’ll schedule it.

I felt like we were making some headway with this thing. I felt like we might actually be able to afford it. Now, I just don’t know. I know that in the grand scheme of things, 6 grand to have a baby is nothing. But, for people who don’t have that kind of money, it’s a lot to swallow. When we started actively TTC a year and a half ago, I figured I’d take a round or two of Clomid and that would be that. Easy peasy. I feel like for every step forward we take in this process, we’re blown back 10. It’s so discouraging and frustrating. I know I said I’d trust the process and keep the faith. BUt, right now, I’m really struggling with it.

In other news, my friend P90X lasted all of one day. We’re awesome.

Leave a Reply

